David Pisarra

Edinburgh Agreement Eu

Home  >>  Edinburgh Agreement Eu

Edinburgh Agreement Eu

On December 7, 2020, Posted by , With No Comments

The Scottish government had previously abandoned its ambition to hold a second independence vote in 2020, but in March 2020 it halted preparatory work due to the coronavirus crisis. [3] To hold a referendum on a clear legal basis, the agreement of the British government is required. In a referendum on 3 December 2015, Denmark voted `no` to EU cooperation in the field of justice and home affairs, under conditions similar to those decided by the UK under the Maastricht Treaty. After the granting of four exemptions to Denmark under the Edinburgh Agreement, the Danish parliament feared that these opt-outs would restrict Danish interests within the EU. Since the signing of the Treaty of Amsterdam (or the Treaty of Amsterdam) in 1997, many issues relating to the JAI have been decided by qualified majority and not unanimously. As a result, Denmark was unable to participate in these decisions because of the opt-outs provided for by the Edinburgh Agreement. Danish political parties have been unhappy about being forced to grant long and complex procedures to conclude parallel agreements with the EU on an individual basis. Although Denmark participates in European police cooperation (Europol), the Europol rules were changed in 2015 and these amendments should be decided by qualified majority, indicating that, under the new conditions, Denmark would not participate in Europol. With other problems faced by Denmark in the area of judicial cooperation, including counter-terrorism activities, the circumstances that led to the request for a referendum were established. On 19 February 2013, Denmark signed the agreement on a unified patent court with the other members of the European Union.

The agreement had to be ratified by 13 states, including France, Germany and the Kingdom, and included an adaptation of the Brussels I regulation before the agreement could be implemented. The Court has not yet begun its work, as not all Member States have yet ratified it. The Scottish Government has not explicitly acknowledged that a referendum could never take place without Westminster`s permission. But his preference is to pursue an agreement, because any unauthorized referendum before the Supreme Court could be blocked or simply boycotted by Unionist parties. The Edinburgh Agreement or the Edinburgh Decision is a December 1992 agreement reached at a European Council in Edinburgh, Scotland, which granted Denmark four exceptions to the Maastricht Treaty in order to be ratified by Denmark. This was necessary because it could not enter into force without all the Member States of the European Union having ratified it. Denmark had initially rejected the Maastricht Treaty, but with the entry into force of the Edinburgh Agreement, it had ratified the treaty by referendum in 1993. The Member States that had already ratified the Maastricht Treaty did not have to do so again. However, polls appeared to be narrowing in 2019. In 12 different surveys conducted between April and December 2019 by different companies, the “no” to independence had an average lead of only three percentage points. In March 2017, the day before Article 50 was triggered, Sturgeon formally sought the Westminster agreement to hold a new referendum.

But Theresa May, then Prime Minister, refused and argued that “now is not the time.” The First Minister renewed the call for a second vote in April 2019 and announced a new decision-making process on Scotland`s constitutional future. The aim of the referendums was to determine whether Denmark should approve the JAI under the same conditions as the United Kingdom, including the possibility of adhering to advantageous political decisions without having to participate.

Comments are closed.